My Favourite Part of the Day

I’m not a morning person.

I love sleeping in on the weekends. I love sleep, period. In fact, when I was in my teens, my dad used to call me Sleeping Beauty.

Work staff who start talking to me about business before I’ve even taken my coat off and turned on my computer (much less settled into my office in the morning) provoke feelings of rage in me. Thanks to my world class poker face, they have no idea how close they come to being murdered on those days.

Despite my predilection for being left to ease into my day at my own serene pace, the morning still happens to hold a special place in my heart.

There is something about that first cup of tea I drink in the a.m. that reminds me of why I love life. That warmth, the slight caffeine stimulation, the way it brings my thoughts into focus for the day…it’s my brand of “contentment”.

Also, breakfast is hands down my fave meal of any day. It’s the only meal I would want to eat whenever, wherever. But I digress.

In summer, or on vacation, things like cool air, morning smells, and sounds of a city waking up always make me euphoric, and I’m not even sure why. I just love that morning “let’s go” kind of feeling.

Another thing I find amazing is that the morning sunlight almost seems to take on emotions, and feels both gentle and enthusiastic. The morning sun reminds me I should be grateful to be alive.

Last, but not least, in the morning, I have this odd but wonderful tendency towards feelings of optimism. My resolve for any personal goals are always strongest first thing when I wake up.

It almost seems bizarre to assert that I’m anything but a morning person….but trust me…I am not.

I’m not necessarily a morning type, but morning is my favourite time of day. Makes sense,right? 👀

Leave a Reply

