Could you ever go on a hunger strike?

I was watching a TV show where a character started a hunger strike under protest.

Aside from the fact that I have always had trouble understanding what one person or group starving themselves truly does to inconvenience a nemesis or opposing party, I cannot imagine voluntarily refraining from eating for more than a day or so (not counting when I’m ill).

When I first lived on my own and worked in a low-paying job, I remember occasionally being low on funds, but food was always the first priority after rent.

Mind you, I think my current self is finicky enough to go a while without eating if the available food wasn’t up to my standards. I know, I know – that scenario is galaxies away from the concept of a hunger strike.

An ex-boyfriend once called me out because, after over 4 hours of rollerblading in scorching heat, I passed on refilling my water bottle with lukewarm water from a faulty fountain, and decided I’d wait until we encountered a vendor to buy a bottle of sufficiently refrigerated water from, even at the risk of heat stroke.

I can definitely be a “first world problems” type of gal. I like to think, however, that I can adapt if necessary. But voluntarily depriving myself of food to get the attention of authorities who’ve already shown that they don’t care about my platform? I just can’t fathom it. I feel like I’m missing something when it comes to this tactic. It seems like a sit-in, a march or a bombardment of letters would accomplish somewhat the same result, no? Maybe I’m naive.

Leave a Reply

