Love at first sight / slash / lust at first sight?

I hear about “magical” meetings all the time, where people know right away that someone is their “soulmate” or similar.

This is an honest-to-goodness question from me to you: am I just jaded?

Because I do not posess the emotional gear to believe in this shit. Maybe it’s due in part to my personal past, but if a guy told me I was his forever within a week after meeting me, he’d basically see a cloud of dust, and I’d long have disappeared into the witness protection program. I really can’t subscribe to this kind of fantasy. Even if he was right, and we did end up madly in love 30 years out, I’d rather he keep those cards close to his chest for at least….well, longer than a week. I have had enough long term relationships to know that shit comes to light fast and often over the first several years. Even more after you live together.

I would have some serious cross-examination questions for those who have been “happily” married for decades after such a hasty beginning. Because something tells me their “happily ever after” doesn’t mirror mine.

Goodnight from my cynical self 😏

Leave a Reply

