Thought of the Day

Every time I hand a bill to a homeless person, I wish for enlightenment for others. I really would love it if people would re-evaluate and pay attention to the homeless issues in their city.

I can usually tell if someone is begging for money to go get food or to purchase their chosen poison (booze, drugs), but that doesn’t really matter to me, unlike all these holier-than-thou bitches out there. Quite frankly – and I know this is an unpopular opinion – if a homeless person wants to take the money people give them to buy alcohol or whatever, I don’t judge them.

After a shitty day at work with a few choice assholes, I am known to go straight home and pour myself a stiff drink. And my life doesn’t suck. If I lived on the street and felt hopeless, hell YEAH I’d need a fucking drink. Good lord.

It is what it is, and everyone’s entitled to their point of view – but I’m so grateful for a roof over my head, a good job, my mental health…but listen. Not everyone has that. Judgy people need to back up and replace the judgment with an effort to educate themselves on how people become homeless in the first place. This is not the 1980s when there was no internet and people were ignorant because the media had free reign to BS them.

On a daily basis, you should remind yourself how lucky you are not to have circumstances that have landed you on the street. More importantly, you should remind yourself that, at any given time, all of us are just a few unlucky steps away from the same fate. Life is a crap shoot.

Stop judging people whose pasts you know nothing about.

One Response to Thought of the Day

  1. Nice post. Please check out mine. I would really appreciate your opinion.

Leave a Reply

