Music & Memories

I am sometimes taken aback by just how triggered I am by music. Dating way back to my very early years, certain songs or artists remind me of moments or periods in my life.

I guess it’s because my parents were big into playing music at home and in the car, and I, in turn, have always made music an integral part of my everyday life as well. My earliest memories of my parents’ music includes (but is not limited to) the Beatles, the Stones, Prince, Donna Summer, Diana Ross, Barry White, Blondie, Pink Floyd, Elton John, and way too many more to mention. I have had a similarly varied taste in tunes my whole life.

One of the funniest and most unexpected things anyone’s ever said to me is “One thing I find cool about you is that when I come to your house, there’s always mood music. There’s always a soundtrack to your life.”

Truer words were never spoken.

I can’t listen to Deeelite’s Infinity Within album without being transported back to the time I was engaged in this brief but intense flirtation with a really interesting guy whom I bonded with over our mutual love for the Police and, funnily enough, Deeelite. In the grand scheme of things, this guy is insignificant in my love life history, but the musical connection can’t be denied.

A random and largely unknown song still reminds me of when I lost my virginity (in case you’re wondering, yes it’s a positive memory).

Other songs make memories of clubbing with my best friends come flooding back to me in an instant.

The more I think about it, the more I realize that music holds even more memory weight for me than actual photographs do. That’s nuts, yes, but true – and definitely in character for me.

Leave a Reply

