First Month Down, 31 Posts

The first month of 12 is over for my personal “365 days of writing challenge” and I’m already feeling the benefits.

I haven’t written any particularly genius posts yet, but that’s not the point. I’ve managed to get into the habit of writing a published piece daily for the first time in a number of years. I’ve gone back to being inspired almost every day. I am now in the habit of finding potential content for my writing projects (even beyond this blog) in everyday experiences. One month in, and I’ve already re-trained some of my writing muscles. I can’t wait to see where I am at the end of this, and I am even more excited to experience the process.

This feels almost like journaling, although it’s certainly not as raw as the journals I kept for so many years. Now that I think about it, when I kept regular diaries, I was always highly inspired to work on my other (fictional) writing.  I can already feel myself getting back to that place mentally.

This first month has not been easy. There are days when I come home from work exhausted, and wonder what the fuck I got myself into. Early on, I thought to myself, more than a few times, that I’d stupidly committed to the impossible. I am now feeling confident and ready to ride out the rough days – and you’d better believe there will be more tough days. As usual, it looks like hurling myself off the proverbial cliff, out of my comfort zone, will be a great gift to myself.

Thanks to everyone who is tagging along for the ride, I hope to entertain you, at least some of the time!

One Response to First Month Down, 31 Posts

  1. […] post isn’t about bungee jumping. It’s about straying out of one’s comfort zone. As I alluded to in a previous post, I’m a big fan of ditching the comfort zone. In my experience, only good […]

Leave a Reply

