Lucky Friday the 13th

I am not superstitious (and I’ve never seen the movies), but I do love me some Friday the 13th.

As a kid, I always felt like the day was lucky. Widespread attention was paid in pop culture to the likelihood of disaster – but I always seemed to have great things happen to me on those days: I’d find out that a guy I liked actually liked me too, an exam would be cancelled, I’d find some crazy deal on those amazing boots I’d been wanting, I’d have an especially amazing night hanging with my best friend.

Somewhere along the way, I developed a love and positive anticipation for Friday the 13th.

And you know what? It’s a great metaphor for life. We should never, ever rely on others to tell us how to feel about anything in life. We should definitely listen and pay attention to different conversations – but we need to remember that our own opinions are most relevant and important to our own lives, and that life is what we decide to make it.

Happy Friday the 13th!

Leave a Reply

