About George Michael

So I know he passed several weeks ago, but I’m kind of surprised by how much his death continues to affect me. When I first heard about it the day it happened, I was shaken by just how shaken I was. I have been sad about celebrity passings many times…we all have celebrities who define our childhoods and/or early adulthoods.

George Michael was one of my favourite artists growing up. So many joyful memories. I still don’t know how I managed to get away with playing “I Want Your Sex” in my bedroom. Mind you, I was pretty careful with the volume for certain songs. My parents weren’t the most conservative, but they weren’t super liberal either. However, I love that they allowed me free reign for the most part where my music was concerned. I guess they leaned on the liberal side 😁

Even though I was shaken and teary when I first found out that GM had passed away, I did think I was done with the emotional response after the first day or two. Nope. Tonight when I threw some GM tunes on, “A Different Corner” came on and I lost it.

I never knew George Michael personally, but I will forever think of him as an integral part of my life, and I will always treasure his contribution to the music industry. 💙

Leave a Reply

